Asian Paralympic Committee announce candidates for 5th Executive Board elections

The Asian Paralympic Committee (APC) announced on Tuesday (18 December) the names of the candidates who will stand for election to the APC Executive Board on 6 February 2019 at the APC General Assembly (GA) in Dubai, UAE.

A total of 13 nominations have been approved by the APC for 12 candidates and the APC’s announcement effectively heralds the start of campaigning for the six Executive Board positions that will be elected at the GA. The positions to be decided are President, two Vice Presidents, two Members at Large and the Chair of the Women in Sport Committee.

Current APC President Majid Rashed is standing for a second term and is unopposed. Five candidates are standing to contest the two Vice President positions, including current APC Vice President Masayuki Mizuno who is standing for a second term. Three candidates have been nominated for the Chair of the Women in Sport Committee and four candidates have been nominated for two Member at Large positions including Keng Chuan Ng, who has been nominated for two positions but can only be elected for one.  

The candidates hoping to be elected are as follows (in alphabetical order with nominating body in brackets)

Nominees for President                        

  • Mr. Majid Rashed   (NPC UAE)                                                                                                  

Nominees for Vice President

  • Ms. JANG Hyang Sook     (NPC Korea)         
  • Mr. Keng Chuan Ng (NPC Malaysia)                               
  • Mr. Masayuki Mizuno (NPC Japan)                        
  • Mr. Satya Parkash Sangwan (NPC India)               
  • Mr. Tariq Mustafa (NPC Pakistan)                                  

Nominees for Chairperson of Women in Sports Committee

  • Prof. Fatemeh Rakhshani (NPC Iran)                    
  • Mrs. Nasanbat Oyunbat (NPC Mongolia)                
  • Mrs. Sara Alshawi (NPC Bahrain)                                 

Nominees for Member at Large

  • Mr. Abdulraheem Al Sheikh (NPC Saudi Arabia)     
  • Mr. Keng Chuan Ng (NPC Malaysia)                      
  • Mr. Khademudin Allahyar (NPC Afghanistan)         
  • Mrs. Nighat Imran Shami (NPC Pakistan)              

During October’s Asian Para Games the Athletes’ Committee were elected. They have nominated Jeong Min Lee from NPC Korea as their Chair and so he will sit on the new Board, alongside the five sub-regional representatives who were also elected during the Jakarta Games. They are

East Asia : Mr. Aso Manabu (NPC Japan)
Central Asia : Mr. Rustam Babayev (NPC Kazakhstan)
West Asia : Mr. Abdelrazzaq Banirasheed (NPC UAE)

South Asia: Mr. Imran Shami (NPC Pakistan)
South East Asia: Mr. Micheal Barredo (NPC Philippines)

The final Board position, that of the third Vice President, is nominated by the NPC of the country where the next Asian Para Games will take placed, namely Hangzhou China in 2022. This position will be approved by the APC Executive Board at their next meeting in Dubai in February and will be announced shortly afterwards. In accordance with the constitution, the APC CEO is also on the Executive Board but does not have voting rights.

On 6 February each candidate will have the opportunity to make a presentation on their candidature to the APC membership attending the APC General Assembly in Dubai.

Further information on the candidates can be found in the candidate booklet, available on the APC website.

Our Partners & Supporters