Nominations open for APC Standing Committees members

The Asian Paralympic Committee (APC) on Thursday called for nominations for members of its Standing Committees, which are sub-committees of the APC’s Executive Board and advise the Board on key aspects of the APC’s business.

The Chairpersons of the Standing Committees are already in place, having been either elected (in the case of the Athletes’ Committee and Women in Sport Committee) or have recently been appointed by the newly-elected APC Executive Board.

All 43 NPCs who are members of the APC are able to nominate suitable candidates for consideration. Candidates for the voluntary positions should display expertise and experience in the relevant area and should be based in the Asian region. The Chairperson for each Standing Committee will select candidates for the Executive Board to scrutinise and ratify. The call for nominations opened on 18 April and will close on May 16, 2019. Selected candidates will serve until 2023. 

The four committees for which nominations are being sought are the Legal and Ethics Committee, the Medical and Sports Science Committee, the Games and Sports Development Committee and the Women in Sport Committee. 

All of these committees have been in operation for the past four years with the exception of the Games and Sports Development Committee which is newly formed following the merger of the previous Games Liaison and Sports and Development Committees. 

Asian Paralympic Committee (APC) president Majid Rashed thanked the previous Standing Committee members for their excellent work supporting the development of the Paralympic Movement in Asia.

“As we look forward to appointing our new Standing Committee members, I would like to thank the previous members who voluntarily offered their support, expertise and knowledge towards our cause. You all are an important part of our Movement. And good luck to the ones who are seeking to work with us.
“I would also like encourage the NPCs to support the process by nominating qualified representatives who can bring a positive change to sports and the Movement in Asia,” Rashed added.

The Committees and their Chairpersons
Standing Committees Chairperson
Legal and Ethics Committee Mr. Keng Chuan Ng (MAS)
Medical and Sports Science Committee Dr. Hasuk Bae (KOR)
Games and Sports Development Committee Ms. Lesley Fung (HKG)
Women in Sport Committee Ms. Nasanbat Oyunbat (MGL)

In addition, the APC has an Athletes’ Committee whose members were elected at the Indonesia 2018 Asian Para Games. This is chaired by Mr. Jeong Min Lee (KOR).

Our Partners & Supporters