AsPC announces Athletes’ Committee, Sub-Regional representative nominees

The Asian Paralympic Committee announced the nominees for its Athletes Committee and Sub-Regional representatives who will be elected during the Hangzhou 2022 Asian Para Games.

Ten candidates have been nominated for election for the position of Athletes’ Committee on the Asian Paralympic Committee (AsPC) Executive Board for the term 2023-2027.

The candidates for Athletes Committee are:

1)        Ms. Salama Alkhateri (United Arab Emirates) – Para Cycling

2)        Mr. Nour Alsana (Saudi Arabia) – Para Athletics

3)        Mr. Ayoob Erhama Asad (Bahrain) – Para Table Tennis

4)        Mr. Devendra (India) – Para Athletics

5)        Mr. Ahmad Hindi (Jordan) – Para Athletics

6)        Ms. Sareh Javanmardi (I.R Iran) – Shooting Para Sport

7)        Mr. Hiroyuki Misaka (Japan) – Wheelchair Rugby

8)        Ms. Nurulasyiqah Mohammad Taha (Singapore) – Boccia

9)        Ms. Tian Shiau-Wen (Chinese Taipei) – Para Table Tennis

10)      Mr. Wang Yanzhang (China) – Para Athletics

The election for the Athletes Committee will take place during the Hangzhou 2022 Asian Para Games (20-26 October). All accredited athletes can vote for five candidates in the voting area located at the dining hall in the Athletes’ Village until October 26 with the results to be announced on October 27, 2023.

To be eligible, candidates had to be an active athlete, having competed in the Asian Para Games, or intending to compete at the Hangzhou 2022 Asian Para Games.

The Athletes’ Committee is designed to ensure that the athletes’ voice is central to the APC’s decision-making process. It has five members elected by the athletes participating at every summer Asian Para Games.

The five elected members then choose a Chairperson, who will replace the current Athletes’ Committee chair Jeong Min Lee (KOR).

Two additional members can be co-opted onto the committee, subject to APC Executive Board approval, to ensure that the diversity of the Paralympic movement in Asia is represented.

For more information on the Athletes Committee candidates, kindly visit here.

Nominees for Sub Regional representatives announced

Meanwhile, 11 candidates will be running for APC Sub Regional representatives for the term 2023- 20227.

The candidates for five sub region representatives are –

Central Asia

Mr. Farrukh Akhmedov, Uzbekistan

Ms. Darika Mamytova, Kyrgyzstan

East Asia

Dr. Mu Ming-Chu, Chinese Taipei

South Asia

Mr. Gursharan Singh, India

Mr. Imran Jamil Shami, Pakistan

South East Asia

Mr. Michael Barredo, Philippines

Dato Sri Megat D Shahriman Bin Dato Zaharudin, Malaysia

Dr. Teo-Koh Sock Miang, Singapore

West Asia

Dr. Abdelrazaq Banirasheed, UAE

Mr. Saud KH M S Almutairi, Kuwait

Mr. Omar Al Aroub, Syria

The elections for the Sub-Regional representatives will also take place during the Hangzhou 2022 Games on October 24, 2023, and National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) (present during the Games) will be able to vote including the candidates themselves.

Commenting on the candidates, AsPC President Majid Rashed said: “These are important elections and I’m delighted that so many athletes and colleagues from across Asia have put themselves forward to help the Asian Paralympic Committee develop further to support the growth of the Paralympic Movement in Asia.” The candidates for the Executive Board elections, which will take place during the AsPC General Assembly in Riyadh in November, will be announced on 13th October.

Our Partners & Supporters